Volunteer

Orientation and Training Information


Thank you for your interest in becoming a CASA volunteer! Please contact Jennifer Rodger, CASA Manager/Recruitment & Training Manager, for more information: jrodger.casa@gmail.com.


CASA 101 Orientation

Location: CASA Office, 421 High Street, Suite 108, Oregon City, OR 97045

CASA 101 Wednesday 8/1/18 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm
CASA 101 Friday 8/17/18 9:30 am - 10:30 am
CASA 101 Wednesday 9/5/18 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm
CASA 101 Friday 9/21/18 9:30 am - 10:30 am
CASA 101 Friday 10/19/18 9:30 am - 10:30 am
CASA 101 Wednesday 11/7/18 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm
CASA 101 Wednesday 12/5/18 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm
CASA 101 Friday 1/4/19 9:30 am - 10:30 am
CASA 101 Wednesday 1/16/19 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm
CASA 101 Friday 2/22/19 9:30 am - 10:30 am
CASA 101 Wednesday 3/6/19 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm
CASA 101 Friday 3/22/19 9:30 am - 10:30 am
CASA 101 Wednesday 4/3/19 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm

Please RSVP with Jennifer Rodger: jrodger.casa@gmail.com or call (503) 723-0521.

No orientation classes will be held May, June or July 2018.

 

Prior to attending training after CASA 101 Orientation, all volunteers must:

  • Attend a CASA 101 Orientation
  • Turn in a volunteer application
  • Complete a pre-screening interview with Jennifer Rodger
  • Submit a DHS Child Abuse Registry check
  • Sign up for a training session with Jennifer and be prepared to attend all classes for that session.


Court Appointed Special Advocate (CASA) Training


SESSION 1 - Location: CASA Office, 421 High Street Suite 108, Oregon City, OR 97045

Class #1 Thursday 9/27/18 4:30 - 8:30 pm
Class #2 Thursday 10/4/18 4:30- 8:30 pm
Class #3 Thursday 10/11/18 4:30 - 8:30 pm
Class #4 Thursday 10/18/18 4:30 - 8:30 pm
Class #5 Thursday 10/25/18 4:30 - 8:30 pm
Class #6 Thursday 11/01/18 4:30 - 8:30 pm
Class #7 Thursday 11/08/18 4:30 - 8:30 pm
Class #8 Thursday 11/15/18 4:30 - 8:30 pm
Court Expectations TBD TBD TBD


SESSION 2 - Location: CASA Office, 421 High Street Suite 108, Oregon City, OR 97045

Class #1 Wednesday 1/23/19 1:00 - 5:00 pm
Class #2 Wednesday 1/30/19 1:00 - 5:00 pm
Class #3 Wednesday 2/6/19 1:00 - 5:00 pm
Class #4 Wednesday 2/13/19 1:00 - 5:00 pm
Class #5 Wednesday 2/20/19 1:00 - 5:00 pm
Class #6 Wednesday 2/27/19 1:00 - 5:00 pm
Class #7 Wednesday 3/6/19 1:00 - 5:00 pm
Class #8 Wednesday 3/13/19 1:00 - 5:00 pm
Court Expectations TBD TBD TBD


SESSION 3 - Location: CASA Office, 421 High Street Suite 108, Oregon City, OR 97045

Class #1 Friday 4/19/19 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
Class #2 Friday 4/26/19 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
Class #3 Friday 5/3/19 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
Class #4 Friday 5/10/19 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
Class #5 Friday 5/17/19 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
Class #6 Friday 5/24/19 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
Class #7 Friday 5/31/19 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
Class #8 Friday 6/7/19 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
Court Expectations TBD TBD TBD


CASA Volunteer Training Topics will Include:

  • CASA Roles and Responsibilities
  • Introduction to Child Welfare
  • Introduction to the law, child protection and the courts
  • Understanding Children
  • Stress in Families
  • Drugs and Alcohol and Addiction
  • Cultural Competence
  • Poverty
  • The role of foster parents
  • The attorney role
  • Gathering information
  • Communicating as a CASA
  • Report Writing
  • Pulling it all together
  • CASA Panel
  • Gmail and Dropbox workshop
  • Policies and Guidelines
Alert!
You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.